IAAF President Sebastian Coe elected for a second term

IAAF President Sebastian Coe was elected for a second term at the 52nd IAAF Congress in Doha on Wednesday 25 September while Ximena Restrepo, Sergey Bubka, Geoffrey Gardner and Nawaf Bin Mohammed Al Saud were elected Vice Presidents.

Restrepo, the 1992 Olympic 400m bronze medallist from Colombia, becomes the first woman to serve as an IAAF Vice President as part of the widespread reforms adopted by the IAAF Congress at the end of 2016, when IAAF added minimum gender targets into its constitution to establish parity at all levels in the sport’s governance.

Following the recommendations made by the IAAF Taskforce, Congress also voted to uphold the suspension of the Russian Athletics Federation. SebCoe

MAAA President Edwin Attard was the delegate representing Malta at the 52nd IAAF Congress in Doha.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s