Clubs League 2 – 4th July 2018

CL2 2018

On Wednesday 4th July 2018, the MAAA organised the second in a series of three meetings in connection with the 2018 MAAA Club’s League at the Matthew Micallef St John Stadium.

After the second day, Pembroke AC and Rush AC both stand a good chance of winning the Men’s and Women’s Open title and it is clear that the third and final day will be decisive.

The programme of track events opened with the Men’s 800m, where Matthew Croker (Savio AC), consistent as always, won the event in 1:58.0 and thus preceded Zurrieq Wolves runner Jean Paul Debono who crossed the line in 1:59.4 and Toni Fortora (La Salle) who was third. Matthew went on to win the Men’s 400m in a convincing 50.49 to beat Kerstein Micallef (Rush AC) and Toni Fortora (La Salle) who were second and third respectively.

In the Men’s 100m, Luke Bezzina (St Patrick’s) won in a hand-time of 10.8, and edged out Ian Grech (Pembroke) who was second in 10.9, while Warren Zammit (Rush AC) was third in 11.00. In the Men’s 200m, Warren Zammit (Rush AC) got the better of Ian Grech (Pembroke AC) by a whisker. Warren won in 22.53 while Ian clocked 22.67.

In the Men’s 1500m, Jean Paul Debono (Zurrieq Wolves) won the race in a strong time of 4:14.03. Thomas Harrison (Rush AC) proved his worth too by placing second in a respectable time of 4:17.03.

Italian runner Marco Filippi (Rush AC) appeared to have built a safe advantage in the Men’s 5000m but Ahmed Maxamed of Pembroke Athleta narrowed the gap in the final lap. Filippi finished first in 16:14.47 with Ahmed second in 16:18.30.

The ever improving Liam McKay (Savio) won the Men’s High Jump in 1.80m ahead of Jeremy Borg Pembroke Athleta who was second in 1.75m, while a leap of 13.09m by Pembroke  athlete Godfrey Sapiano  was good enough to win the Men’s Triple Jump

In the Boys’ Under-16 1500m, Jacob Greengrass (Pembroke Athleta) and Matthias Fenech (La Salle) produced one of the closest races of the day with Jacob emerging winner in 4:30.56 as against Matthias’ time of 4:32.91.

British runner Jazz Crawford of Rush AC was the fastest woman on the track winning both the Women’s 100m and 200m in outstanding style in 12.51 and 24.95 respectively.

The Women’s 400m was won by Janet Richard (St Patricks) who crossed the line in a strong time of 56.07 while up-and-coming Sarah Chouhal (Rush AC) was second in 59.57. In the Women’s 800m, Paula Grech (St Patricks) won convincingly and opened up a large gap on her nearest rivals.

Running in a mixed 1500m race, Mona Lisa (Libertas), kept her winning streak going and was a clear winner in 4:39.39. Running in the same race, U-16 runner Nina Zammit Moore (la Salle) ran a very strong time of 4:49.14.

Claire Azzopardi (Pembroke Atleta) enjoyed a very positive outing.  In the Women’s Triple jump, she broke the U20 NR twice with leaps of 11.94 and 12.02m. She then won the Long Jump with a leap of 5.71m.

Concluding the programme were the Relays which as always generated loads of enthusiasm amongst the lively crowd. The Men’s 4 x 100m was won by Pembroke Athleta in a swift time of 44.30; Rush AC won the Boys’ 4 x 100m in an encouraging time of 47.10 whilst in the Women’s Race St Patrick’s clocked 49.58 to beat Pembroke by a mere 0.21 of a second.

After the second day the standings were as follows:


Men Open

Athleta Pembroke

Rush AC

Zurrieq Wolves


Women Open

Rush AC

Athleta Pembroke

St Patrick’s


Boys Under-16

Rush  AC

Athleta Pembroke

La Salle



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s